Mottled like rash

I was wondering have any of you gotten a patch of mottled like skin for no reason? I got one yesterday that spread over my thigh and behind my knee . I do not have lupus but my mother does. She also has ra. I have horrible joints, neuropathy, numbness and hemochromatosis. The doctors are confused about what’s going on with me . But this is my first time having a true odd skin issue and thought who better to ask than people with lupus. My mom is 58 and just got diagnosed about a year ago.

It usually covers a larger area but look up livedo reticularis to see if that is what it looks like- it is a symptom of autoimmune disorders usually involving the blood system. I have APS and hemolytic anemia and get this when I am flaring

My daughter gets this and she has SLE and Vascullitis. She is treated with Methotrexate (sp?) for this.

Hi Stephanie,

I've got DLE bad but not had a mottled rash where your on about....have Doctor's run tests on you yet...as Lupus can be inherited, as i inherited from birth from my parent/s.

It sounds to me like you may have an autoimmune disease and watch to see how long the rash lasts for, as a flare if it is one can go from 2 days to usually 2wks.

The link below may help you regarding hemochromatosis which is an inherited condition also and also linked with SLE/ Lupus.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmedhealth/PMH0001368/

http://www.lef.org/protocols/immune_connective_joint/lupus_01.htm

((Hugs Terri)) xxx

It does seem to look like livedo reticularis although red not purple . I looked at pictures on web . I have been tested for autoimmune stuff and every thing this far negative . But so we’re my moms tests til she was 58! Thank you all for your input . Guess I will be making a doctors appointment

Tez_20 said:

Hi Stephanie,

I’ve got DLE bad but not had a mottled rash where your on about…have Doctor’s run tests on you yet…as Lupus can be inherited, as i inherited from birth from my parent/s.