Arthritis and medicine

I recently started having joint pain in my right hand. In which I am right handed. SOmetimes hard for me to pick up a jug of water, pick up a regular pan for cooking. It aches all day long, and really stiff in the morning. NOT fun at all. Question is what are my options for pain? Im new to this and hate taking pills. But its a part of life, I know.

I agree with John. Wrapping my hand in a warm heating pad for 1/2 hour helps. Also if it wakes me up during the night, I apply Biofreeze - a gel in a tube.

Thank you for your help. Ive tried Advil, it doesnt work. I will try heat not ice. I go to the dr this morning for a check up, so I will let him know.

If over the counter meds no longer work for you, talk to your dr about Celebrex. I have taken it for years and it has little side effects but works extremely well for me. Good luck!

After hand surgery, I was given a compression glove to wear to help prevent scarring from the stitches. I found that it also helped squeeze the retained fluid out of my hands and the warmth eased the pain. They are spandex like material with the finger tips cut off so you can wear them while doing most things, and they come in a nude color so they aren't so noticeable. They are turned inside out so the seams are on the outside and can't rub. I got mine from the physical therapist, but you can find them in catalogs that sell health aids of for aging supplies. Sorry, I can't remember any names.