Fighting viruses

Im new to lupus and thank you all for your help and knowledge!
I was wondering how well you do when you get sick? I’ve always had a hard time fighting sickness and get things longer and worse than my family. I now have a terrible cold that I can’t shake and it’s making my pain flare. It’s so hard! I have a husband and four busy kids that are wonderful and helpful but sickness really sets me back. Is that normal?

Wash your hands like crazy. Like every half hour and always before you eat and after using a shopping cart. Take a multi and extra vutamin C and D3. When you have a cold or virus, get those zinc losenges and drink chicken soup. Avoid sugar, sodas and junk food always. Get your 7 or 8 hours of sleep nightly. Use a low dose Melatonin tablet if necessary.

I have the same issue. A simple cold turns into a long drawn out sickness. A lot of times it turns into some type of infection, and I have to go on antibiotics. Our immune systems are very low. Unfortunately, there is not much to do about it but to try and avoid germs and get as much rest at possible. It can cause flares too. I always have lysol and emergency-c on hand. Good luck!

I’m prone to the same thing. No cold lasts a few days or a week…more like weeks to months. I try to stay away from anyone exhibiting symptoms…as said above, wash hands and kep them away from your nose,
eyes and mouth.

Hi Crystal,

Getting sick is certainly more challenging with Lupus - whatever you get stays longer and is more likely to develop into something worse because of our compromised immune systems.

Here's what I've done to stay healthy:

• At the first sign of a cold (tickle in throat, sneezing, being around kids with colds) I start drinking "Throat Coat" tea. You can find it in the natural food section of most grocerys. Along with that I start sucking on Hall's Vitamin C throat drops. These two things seem to help me stop the infection before it takes hold.