Waiting is going to drive me insane

Hi everyone. I'm Lindsey. I'm 33 years old, married, and the mom of three kids (Kenneth James 3/14/07-4-17/07, Grant 11/25/08, and Elise 11/7/77). I have a ton of questions, so please bear with me. :)

The past two years have been filled with all sorts of bizarre health problems, and I think we are finally on to what my correct diagnosis is. My GP finally thought to have an ANA drawn on me, which came back weakly positive (1:80, homogeneous). That was enough to get me a referral to a rheumatologist, who took about 10 tubes of blood last week. Most of those labs are still out, but my complement panel came back with a C3 of 65 and a C4 of 8. Combined with my long list of symptoms and that positive ANA, I think a diagnosis of Lupus is a distinct possibility. I should know more later this week when the rest of the labs come back. I'm a nervous wreck.

I work full-time as a high school Choir Director. It's a demanding job, both physically and mentally. I love my job, but it has become increasingly hard to be a working mom. I find that by the time I'm done with work for the day, I'm exhausted, running a fever, and in pain. I spend my weekends recovering from the work week. I feel like I am at the point that I can either be a mom to my kids or I can work, but I can't do both. I'm also noticing that it's getting harder to do my job while I'm at work. I'm having a lot of trouble with speech (words come out garbled or in a weird order), and that's a big problem when your job is to help kids to break down and understand concepts. Did you guys find that things like this improved once you got a diagnosis and treatment? I'm starting to really worry that I'm not going to be able to continue working full-time, and whether or not I should start trying to find a plan for short-term or even long-term disability while I get my symptoms under control.