My strange body and pleurisy

I have been fighting pleurisy on right side for 4 months now. Been sleeping in recliner all this time. Last night thought I would try sleeping in my bed. Kept on my left side. But I woke up about an hour later with sharp pains in left AND rignt sides and short of breath.

Anyone experience this before? Not quite sure why this would happen. I got up and went back to recliner and the left side is better but pain is still there where it wasn’t before and right side is worse. Obviously I need to keep sleeping in recliner. and timing is good because pulmonologist ordered a CT chest scan for this coming week. I am on prednisone, plaquenil, cellcept, Colcrys and mobic. Pulmonary dr says I should be improving by now.

I am very curious about the pain moving to left lung from sleeping flat. Thanks everyone for reading.

No, but the CT scan is really needed to rule out PEs. Glad to hear you are getting one.

When I had my initial flare, I had pleurisy for months too. I also slept sitting up with lots of pillows - if I tried sleeping flat I also had pain on both sides. At the same time I had stomach issues so I thought the pain was related to that.

It shouldn't last 4 months. There must be an infection there. That would make it spread to the other side.Pleurisy and hair loss were what got me diagnosed. Sometimes they treat my pleurisy with anti-inflammatories, pain meds, sometimes I've needed antibiotics or even some fluid drained off. (It feels much better than it sounds) If your Dr. is not doing enough, you need to see another one.. Maybe the ER. doc can help more than you've been helped. I'm so sorry for what you're going through. It hurts so much.