Name brand plaquenil vs. generic version

Hello everyone! I'm new to all of this, diagnosed with Lupus Aug. 31, 2001 & just joined this site today. In the beginning my rheumatologist put me on Plaquenil & when I filled it at the pharmacy I was given the generic version, which was fine in my opinion. Within days I felt better even though I was told it could take weeks to take effect. I had more energy & for the 1st time in months my joints were feeling better. However, within a week I had broken out in a rash that my dr said was a reaction to the plaquenil & switched me to Azathioprine (generic for Imuran). I swear I feel worse now than I ever did! I've been doing some research & have found a few mentions of side effects being less with the name brand Plaquenil. Has anyone had this issue or tried going on name brand Plaquenil after reacting to the generic version? I want so much to be off of my current medication but the nurse told me my next option was high dose steroids. Thank you so much for any input you can share with me!

Renee425

I have been on Plaquenil for over 9 years now and it's always been the generic hydroxychloriquine. Have you brought this question to your doctor yet? I would say, especially if you're opposed and not wanting to try steroids, that you want to try name brand Plaquenil before continuing on this medication makes you feel horrible or taking steroids. When you say you're new to this, do you mean the site? Or Lupus? Because you put 2001 but I'm assuming you meant 2011 and the only reason I ask is because if it was 2001, what did you use for medications before? The unfortunate fact with Lupus is that everyone is so different and the meds react to everyone so different as well.