Losing prednisone weight!

I was on Acthar for 3 months and prednisone for 8 mo. I ended up gaining 30 pounds. (Most of it came from the Acthar.) I have been off steroids 2 months. I have not lost even one pound! I work 45-50 hours a week on my feet most of the time without even a lunch. (Healthcare.). Anyway all that to say is that I am hardly sedentary. I have been eating paleo for two years. The first 4 months of steroids I was eating/drinking mostly liquids. I will admit I am not exercising but at the end of a 9-10 hour day I am exhausted and my joints are killing me. (I think the prednisone destroyed my joints. Especially hips and knees!) but back to the weight.
Has anyone successfully lost this much weight after steroids? Would appreciate any tips or advise.

It is possible to lose weight after steroids but to be completely honest it's very difficult. But stay positive! Prednisone is a very tough drug and I hate that it makes me gain weight! I've finally lost about 10 pounds since the New Year. I've been eating very small meals every 3-4 hours and I try my best to exercise. I really like Zumba but the day after I'm usually really tired. Don't over do it though, just listen to your body!

I don’t know anything about acthar. But I know alot, unfortunately about steroids. I think it’s great you were able to get off of prednisone after being on it for 8 months. How high was your dose? Being off for 2 months and no weight loss yet is not
Surprising. It takes a long time. Depends on how high your dose was
also. Don’t lose hope, you just need more time. Why do you think it destroyed your hips?
Karen M.

I have successfully lost the weight from prednisone before, however now that I’m completely menopausal (lupus shut that system down waaaaay early) I am really struggling to get the 30 lbs off. I barely eat because the cellcept keeps me nauseated but even after a month of eating less than 1200 calories a day I haven’t lost any weight. It’s really frustrating.