Book on the lupus experience

As a former journalist, I am considering writing a book on the ordeal of living with lupus, revealing the up-and-down nature of the disease, the daily misery it causes us, the complexity of finding the proper mix of medicines to fight the condition, etc. I would try to offer the story from a victim's perspective, of course, and that might include some testimony from sufferers like all of you. Initially, I will probably discuss my situation and the strange combination of illnesses (lung cancer, interstitial lung disease and kidney issues along with the lupus) that I have experienced over the last five years. But I might include some insight from some of you if you are willing and able. Perhaps you could provide some interesting stories from your experiences, such as symptoms you live with, issues with doctors, etc. - anything that might be appealing to a reader.

This potential project - and I stress potential - has only just begun, with a rough draft for the first paragraph, subject to many changes. But I wanted to let you read a sampling of what I might be doing and offer any advice. Feel free to be critical.

Does anyone out there believe there might be interest in such a book?

Anyway, here is an early-morning start to what I am considering. I will use the name Keith to refer to myself at this point:

"If pressed for an answer, Keith could produce no exact date as to when his life took a sudden reversal of fortune, a five-year downward spiral that he never envisioned as his age crept closer to the dreaded 50-year-old milestone. At some point - he couldn't say precisely when- his great misfortune began and has only worsened over the period that has followed. Keith has been forced to accept the mysterious and uncalled-for - at least in his mind - run of bad luck that struck in the fall of 2009.